Music Spotlight: Dean

This week’s blog post I’m going to be writing about one of my favorite artists of all time which is Dean. If there’s one thing to know about me is that I really really really love Dean. And its not an exaggeration haha I’ve always been up to date with his music ever since I first listened to him. But also he has one of the most unique voices in South Korea’s music industry setting him apart from most artists. I find

Dean (Kwon Hyuk) is an alternative R&B singer-songwriter,and record producer; he has released one solo EP, 130 Mood: TRBL. As well as multiple collaborations with both American and South Korean artists. At the age of 16 he started performing with Keith Ape and by 18 he was already writing tracks for other artists under the name ‘Deanfluenza’. His US debut was in collaboration with Eric Bellinger for “I’m not sorry” its interesting as he grew a US fanbase rather than starting in Korea first. Apart from producing awesome music, hes also won awards such as Best R&B Soul Song at the 13th Korean Music awards for Pour Up (2016), Discovery of the year – R&B at the Gaon Music Awards (2017), and R&B track of the year for “D (Half Moon)” at the Korean Hip Hop awards (2017). Hes also made a special appearance as a producer for Unpretty Rapstar season 3 and is appearing as a producer with Zico for Show me the money 6.

Getting through all these achievements that Dean has made so far the reason why I love his music and him as an artist is that the music he produces are just upright funky, sometimes experimental mixed with this groovy, R&B feel. If you listen to songs like Love ft Syd or Put my hands up ft Anderson Paak you can hear those beats in it. I may not be a music theorist or anything like that but when I hear good music I tend to stick to it and follow through. Honestly he has also been one of the few artists that I’ve really loved all their tracks, so far I’ve never encountered a song from Dean I don’t like so far. If at most I just don’t replay it as often as his other ones I tend to favor the most. What I also find interesting with Dean is that the artists he’s collabed with such as Syd, Eric Bellinger, Anderson Paak, Jeff Bernat, and probably more talented artists in their own respect (and that’s only the American artists he’s collabed with so far). He even has his own crew called Club Eskimo (consisting of Crush, Millic, Camper, OFFONOFF, (Colde & 0channel), punchnello, Chek Paren, 2xxx!, Jusen, and Miso) and Fanxy Child (consisting of Zico and Crush).

So, here are my favorite songs from Dean that you should check out:

And there you have it, I can honestly talk about Dean all day long if I want to that is how much I really love Dean haha. If you liked this post make sure to like, share, comment and follow my blog for more posts like these and I’ll see you!

 

 

Leave a Reply

